Drakensberg, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa

The Drakensberg Mountains, meaning ‘Dragon Mountains’ in Afrikaans, are the highest mountains in South Africa, ranging up to 3,482 m (11,422 ft) in height. In isi-Zulu, the language of the Zulu People, they are called “uKhahlamba”, the ‘barrier of spears’. They are located in the eastern part of South Africa, running for some 1000 km (600 mi) generally southwest to northeast, with a northwesterly bend forming the northeastern border of Lesotho with South Africa. They are drained on the west by the Orange and Vaal rivers, and on the east and south by a number of smaller rivers, the Tugela being the largest. The range thus separates KwaZulu-Natal Province from Free State Province, looming over the nearby coast of Natal.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.